Nigeria Tennis Live


Team Anambra, Others To Kickstart N23m NCC League With Playoff In Lagos

Team Anambra (Onitsha), Team Oluyole (Ibadan) and Team Police College (Ikeja) will kick off this season’s NCC Tennis League with a playoff in Lagos, Naija Tennis Special can report.

These teams will tackle one another on Thursday, 27 July at the National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos, with a playoff to take the 12th spot in the main event and it will last three days.

Team Offikwu are the defending champions of the annual NCC Tennis League.

Naija Tennis Special gathered that these teams dropped into the playoff event based on their collective team ranking as the Tennis League has a cap of 12 teams.

According to the International Tennis Academy, organisers of the league, the matches will be reduced to five matches to enable each tie to finish in one day.

The matches to decide each tie are: two men’s singles, one ladies’ singles, one men’s doubles and one mixed doubles.

“We are expecting some very exciting matches as the teams are featuring some very good national and intermediate players,” a statement from the ITA read.

The NCC Tennis League is the first of its kind in Africa and is offering a consolidated prize money of N23 million this year.

The main event will start next weekend with an opening match between starstudded Team Civil Defence featuring Abdulmumuni Babalola, Clifford Enosoregbe and Christie Agugbom and newcomers Team Muller which has CBN Senior Championship finalist Joseph Imeh, Emma Idoko and Ronke Akingbade on their list.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *