Nigeria Tennis Live

Breaking News Junior Tournament Latest news

Sapetro Futures Tennis: Meet All The Winners (Photos)

Winners have emerged at the just concluded Sapetro Futures Tennis Championship which was held inside the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan.

Youngsters from every part of Nigeria had converged at the tennis hub of west and central Africa for a week of intense tennis competition in their quest for trophies and other prizes

The competition organized by the International Tennis Academy headed by Mr. Godwin Kienka, featured some of the best youngsters in the country, renown locally and internationally.

The likes of Seun Ogunshakin, Nene Yakubu, Mubarak Ganiyu, Khadijat Mohammed, Murewa Egbeyemi were the cynosure of all eyes at the event, and they all shone like millions.

Murewa Egbeyemi defeated his friend and rival Malcolm Osaji 9-4 to win the Boys 10 & Unders while Seyi Ogunshakin, yet again, lost to the rampaging Onyekachi Ogumjiofor in a game that ended 3-9 for the Boys 12 & Unders just as Ndidi Osaji won 9-7 against Vanessa Inyang in the Girls 12 & Under.

Khadijat Mohammed shone exceedingly in the Girls 14 category, as she saw off Mary Iorlumun from Benue State in a fantastic 9-1 game while Nene Yakubu starred in the match of the day, beating Success Ogunjobi 9-2 in the Girls 16 finale.

Southpaw Seun Ogunshakin proved too strong for Damilare Awe in the Boys 14 final, crushing him 9-0, while the biggest winner of the day was Mubarak Ganiyu, who battled in the Boys 16 final to a 9-6 win over Basit Ajao.

While Yakubu emerged as the overall best female player of the competition, Mubarak was adjudged the outstanding male player.

Nigeria’s Sports Minister, Sunday Dare and his wife alongside former Petroleum Minister, Odein Ajumogobia, were all in attendance as the organizers drew the curtain on the annual Sapetro event.

Below are some of the pictures of the trophy presentation as captured by Nigeria Tennis Live photojournalist:

Malcolm Osaji (Runner-up, Boys 10 & Under)
Murewa Egbeyemi (Winner, Boys 10 & Under)
Vanessa Inyang (Runner-up, Girls 12 & Under)
Ndidi Osaji’s sister (Winner, Girls 12 & Under)
Seyi Ogunshakin (Runner-up, Boys 12 & Under)
Onyekachi Ogumjiofor (Winner, Boys 12 & Under)
Mary Iorlumun (Runner-up, Girls 14 & Under)
Khadijat Mohammed (Winner, Girls 14 & Under)
Damilare Awe (Runner-up, Boys 14 & Under)
Seun Ogunshakin (Winner, Boys 14 & Under)
Success Ogunjobi (Runner-up, Girls 16 & Under)
Ohunene Yakubu (Winner, Girls 16 & Under)
Basit Ajao (Runner-up, Boys 16 & Under)
Mubarak Ganiyu (Winner, Boys 16 & Under)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *