Nigeria Tennis Live


NCC Tennis League Will Unite Nigerians- Kienka

Mr. Godwin Kienka, Director of the International Tennis Academy, ITA, has said that the forthcoming Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC Tennis League will unite the nation after the elections.
Kienka, whose ITA will manage the 30-week long event, disclosed that with the format of the league, where players will have to travel to other parts of the country to play matches, will help the players blend with one another.
Speaking to Naija Tennis Special during last week’s briefing to officially announce the commencement of the tournament, the one-time Umpire with the ITF stated that it would not have come at a better time.
Kienka further said that the NCC Tennis Cup will kick off with a mouth-watering challenge between players based in the North and those of the South.
“This will come directly after the elections and will serve to test-run the championship, promote unity through sports and whet the appetite of tennis enthusiasts for the main ties across the nation,” he said.

R-L: Mr. John Ojobo, Director, Public Affairs of the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC and Mr. Godwin Kienka, Director of the International Tennis Academy, ITA, during the draws for the NCC Tennis League at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan, Lagos on Thursday, 19 March, 2015. Photo: Damilare Okunola 

Speaking also on the importance of the N11m prize-winning tournament was Mr. Odein Ajumogobia, patron of the ITA, who stated that, “the NCC Tennis Cup will definitely motivate Nigerian players to improve their game and hopefully push them to qualify for Grand Slam events which Nigeria has not featured in since Nduka Odizor.”
The event also featured the draws for the eight teams which met the criteria for registration.
According to Mr. Kienka, the teams will play in two groups of four with the best two emerging for the semifinals.
The teams in the White Group are Kalotari Foundation Port Harcourt, Team Ogun State Abeokuta, Team FCT Abuja and the CBN Futures Team based in Kaduna.
In the Blue Group are the Civil Defence Team based in Ibadan, Team Tombim Abuja, Team Delta State Asaba and Team Anambra State, Onitsha.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *