Nigeria Tennis Live


Ikoyi Club Comes Alive For Rainoil Tennis Masters

Ikoyi Club, the premier membership club in Nigeria, will open its doors to players and spectators for the second edition of the Rainoil Tennis Masters which kicks off in Lagos, Tuesday, 19 January, 2016.

The Rainoil Tennis Masters is featuring the best eight players in Nigeria for men and women with one wild card place for outstanding juniors.

Nigeria’s former number one male tennis player, Clifford Enosoregbe is one of the Nigerian stars expected to feature in the Masters which kicks off today.

The men’s list is led by Thomas Otu, Moses Michael and Sylvester Emmanuel, former top juniors who recently transited from the ITA Junior Tennis Circuit.

Unfortunately Emmanuel will be unable to defend the inaugural title he won as a 17 year old  last year as he is away in the USA playing to earn more ATP ranking points.

The young stars will seek to consolidate their recent domination of the older generation of champions which include, Babalola Abdulmumuni, Clifford Enosoregbe, Nonso Madueke and Henry Atseye.

Topping the ladies’ list is ageless defending champion, Christie Agugbom, who will have former ITA Junior Circuit players, Aanu Ayegbusi and Sarah Adedgoke, nationally ranked two and four respectively, as major contenders.

The other players are Blessing Samuel, Pauline Ebijimi, Ronke Akingbade, Patience Enobamhoin, and wild card entrant Marylove Edwards.

The players will be divided into two groups for the round robin playoffs from where two players will emerge from each group for the semifinals.

The draws will precede the opening ceremony scheduled for 4.00 pm on Tuesday, 19 January, 2016.
The chairman/CEO of Rainoil, Gabriel Ogbechie, is billed to be the Guest of Honour.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *