Nigeria Tennis Live


Gov’s Cup Tennis: French, Bosnia Players Win 1st leg, As Futures 4 Begins

The first leg (Futures 3) of the  15th Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship was concluded on Saturday, 12 December, 2015, with 17-year-old French lady, Tessah Andrianjaftrimo and Aldin Setkic of Bosnia winning the women and men’s singles respectively. 
Right from the first round of the Main Draw, number eight seed Andrianjaftrimo had shown her intention of being a champion with her style of play which saw her stopping top players standing on her way to glory.
The Men’s Singles finalists holding their trophies after last weekend’s matches. Photo: Emmanuel Osodi

She showed no mercy to her final opponent, 5th seed Tadeja Majeric of Slovakia who she defeated in 6-3, 5-7,6-4 game at the Lagos Tennis Club, Onikan.

Men’s singles top seed, Setkic justified his rating also by stunning his way to the final and defeating French Sadio Doumbia in one sided two straight set of 6-1, 6-0 in Saturday’s epic final.

Andrianjaftrimo described Majeric as a tough opponent. She however said that she was happy winning the Governor’s Cup the very first time she was coming to Lagos to play an International Tennis Federation (ITF) approved competition.

The women’s doubles was won by the duo of Margarita Lazareva from Russia and Ukraine’s Valeriya Strakhova, while the men’s doubles was won by the pairs of Pel David and Van Der Duim Antal, both from the The Netherlands.
Trophies were presented to all the winners during a brief ceremony attended by the vice chairman of the Local Organising Committee (LOC), Engr. Afolabi Salami; president of Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Barrister Rotimi Edu; vice president of Nigeria Tennis Federation (NTF), Mr. Yemi Owoseni; Director General of Lagos State Sports Commission, Mr. Ayo Agbesanwa and a host of other guests.
Meanwhile, the second leg of the competition (Futures 4) served off on Sunday with some qualifying matches, while the Main Draws will begin on Monday.
The grand finale of the 15th Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship will be held on Saturday, 19 December where the Minister of Sports, Mr. Solomon Dalung and the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode are expected to be special guests of honour.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *