All for Joomla All for Webmasters
Home / Uncategorized / Governor’s Cup: Dutch, Swiss Players Emerge Champions

Governor’s Cup: Dutch, Swiss Players Emerge Champions

The grand finale of 2015 edition of Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship ended Saturday with Dutchman Antal Van Der Duim and Conny Perrin of Switzerland respectively winning the men and women’s singles of the $80, 000 prize-money International Tennis Federation (ITF)- approved competition.
Perrin defeated Tadeja Majeric, who was a winner in the 2013 edition and runner up in the first leg (Futures 1) women’s singles 6-3, 4-6, 7-6 to lift the women’s trophy, while Van Der Duim won a repeat of Futures 3 quarter final match, beating Zimbabwe’s Takanyi Garangaga 6-3, 6-4 to win the men’s singles title.
Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos state presenting the runners up trophy to Takanyi Garangaga during the final of the Men’s Singles at the Governor’s Cup Tennis Championship decided in Lagos last weekend.

 The final of the men’s singles was watched by the governor of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, and former Vice President, Alex Ekwueme among other dignitaries which include chairman of the Local Organising Committee (LOC), Chief Pius Akinyelure, President of Nigeria Tennis Federation (NTF), Engr. Sani Ndanusa, school children and tennis pundits at the Lagos Lawn

Tennis Club, Onikan.

The men’s doubles was won by the Africa’s pair of Harris Llyod (South Africa) and Karim-Mohammed Maamoun (Egypt), while the women’s doubles was won by Indian Prarthana Thombare and Julia Terziyska from Bulgaria.
The newly-introduced media exhibition game early in the morning of the finals was won by Fred Edoreh, chairman of Lagos SWAN, who beat Ganiyu Salman, Group Sports Editor of Nigeria Tribune in straight set of 6-1, 6-3.
Governor’s Ambode presented the trophies to both winner and runner up of the men’s singles while the LOC boss, Akinyelure presented the trophies to the winner and runner up in the women’s singles. President Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Edu presented winners of the men’ doubles their trophies, while women’s doubles winners received their trophies from the President of NTF, Ndanusa.

The Governor’s Cup Tennis, a tournament organized to celebrate every sitting governor of Lagos state since the administration of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, featured players from more than 40 countries in this year, which was the 15th edition.

About Our Correspondent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Check Also

Ayeni’s Dreams: US-born Nigerian Teenager Vows To Win Wimbledon Someday

US-born and raised Nigerian tennis player, Oluwakayode Alafia Ayeni Damina was one ...